Time Saver–Baked Chicken

Standard

One of the biggest time savers I do is to cook multiple packages of chicken at one time and freeze them. Then, when I make a recipe with cooked, chopped chicken, I can just pull out a bag of chicken from the freezer, shaving off that preparation step.

For years, I boiled my chicken, then cut it up and froze it in one pound portions. A couple months ago, I read on another blog to bake the chicken instead of boiling it. I was really skeptical that it would taste that much better, but gave it a try. SUCH a difference! The chicken has way more flavor and is so moist. It only takes 2 minutes to lay the chicken in a pan and throw it in the oven and you can walk away and forget it. No more monitoring a big pot of boiling chicken, waiting for it to overflow. Try it! You won’t go back!

Baked Chicken

–I usually do 2 packages of chicken breasts at one time. Use however much of any type of chicken you want, just adjust the cooking time appropriately.

–Lay chicken in 9×13 pan and season with your favorite seasonings. I use a good shake of salt, pepper, onion powder, and garlic powder.

–Bake for around 40-45 mins. I usually check it around 30 or 35 mins and take it out when it’s no longer pink in center.

–Chop, shred, or leave it whole and place in freezer bags when cooled. You can divide them into one cup or one pound portions–whatever will be easiest for you!

–I’ ve found it freezes better if you put the portions in freezer quart bags, then place all your quart bags into one gallon size freezer bag, making sure to squeeze out all the air.

–Don’t forget to date your bags so you know how long your chicken has been in the freezer! Unidentified meat in back of freezer=gross. 🙂

Enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. I also used to boil, but then I realized I was making more work for myself. Baking it is much easier to clean up. Boiled chicken leaves such a mess in the pot to clean! Plus when baking you can line your pan with some foil to then you have zero clean up!

  2. I love the convenience of having pre-cooked chicken in the freezer. I used to boil it, but it didn’t have much flavor. Now I cut the chicken in small pieces and then stir-fry it with salt, pepper, garlic powder and poultry seasoning. Baking whole pieces looks so much easier. I can’t wait to try it!
    Thanks for the blog. I’m looking forward to more good ideas!

Leave a Reply

